Thorn Grove Primary School



Russell Knight-Chair of Governors, Resources Committee, Co-opted Governor

Russell works for the Prince’s Trust and works to support disadvantaged young people to turn their lives around and get them on the road to success. He is keen to work with local schools to help young people to get the best start in life.


Rachel Foster-Vice Chair of Governors-Resources Committee, Co-opted Governor

Rachel is a Software Consultant working with charity and non-profit organisations designing business processes that optimise their fundraising and supporter management capabilities. Rachel has joined Thorn Grove as a Co-opted Governor and has since taken an active role in the Resources Committee.


Karen Woolhouse–Chair of School Improvement Committee, Local Authority Governor

Karen is an education specialist and former headteacher and Ofsted inspector. 


Sarah Lilly-Clerk to Thorn Grove Governing Body

Sarah Lilly has been Clerk to the Governing Body since July 2016. Sarah is also a governor at another local school.


Claire Colson-Co-opted Governor

Claire is a parent at the school and a Health & Safety Professional.


Shane Manning-School Improvement Committee, Co-opted Governor

Shane is a Digital Product Owner working on digital transformation projects within financial services. Shane’s background is in Legal practice, with a Law degree from Lancaster University and a post graduate diploma from the University of Law, Manchester. Shane moved to Bishop Stortford at the start of 2018 and joined Thorn Grove as a Governor shortly afterwards. He is also a Governor of another school.


Andrew Bennett-Resources Committee, Parent Governor

Andrew is a parent at the school.


Michelle Gowlett-Resources Committee, Parent Governor

Michelle is a qualified accountant and works in finance and operations in a charity supporting young people into further education, employment or enterprise. She has previously worked for many years at a professional services firm and at Hertfordshire County Council. She enjoys running, reading and baking cakes and has one child at Thorn Grove.


Sally Murray-School Resources Committee, Parent Governor

Sally is a parent at the school.  Sally has two children at Thorn Grove. She currently runs a local award-winning floral design business, but also has a background in communication, marketing and journalism. She has a degree in communication and publishing from the London College of Communication.


Peter Luck-Headteacher

Peter is Headteacher at Thorn Grove and joined the school in September 2016. He was previously assistant headteacher at Dewhurst St. Mary Primary School in Cheshunt, a good school with outstanding features.


Jayne Lilley-Deputy Headteacher

Jayne was appointed as Deputy Headteacher in September 2018, joining us from Burnt Mill Academy Trust, where she was a Lead Practitioner for Creativity and English.  She was based at Little Parndon Primary School, where her support led to the school being placed in the top 20% of schools nationally for student progress.  Jayne believes the curriculum should be taught in an engaging and stimulating way which promotes a love of learning.   


Sue Cooper-Staff Governor

Sue has been a class teacher at Thorn Grove for over 10 years. In a previous life, Sue was an analytical chemist, working at GSK, for 23 years. She has taught year 5 and 6 at Thorn Grove and has been the school’s P.E subject leader and sport coordinator for the past 8 years. The school has attained many awards for P.E whilst under her leadership; the most recent being the Platinum School Games Award and in January 2020 ,a runner up in Hertfordshire’s Primary school of the year for P.E. Sue has recently taken on the additional role of Maths subject leader.